14 day tour with CIE - Thursday 23 October to 26 October
We landed in a Dublin on Thursday late afternoon, 23 October.
So on Friday 24 October, we went to the Guiness Brewery at St James' Gate. we are staying in a nice hotel near Trinity College so we walked past the college and over the River Liffey to O'Connell Street.
Trinity College was established by Queen Elizabeth 1 in 1592.
Trinity College, formally known as the College of the Holy and Undivided Trinity of Queen Elizabeth near Dublin, is the sole constituent college of the University of Dublin in Ireland. The college was founded in 1592 as the "mother" of a new university, modelled after the collegiate universities of Oxford and of Cambridge, but, unlike these, only one college was ever established; as such, the designations "Trinity College" and "University of Dublin" are usually synonymous for practical purposes. It is one of the seven ancient universities of Britain and Ireland as well as Ireland's oldest university.
The River Liffey runs through Dublin and as it is tidal it rises 5 metres or so.
Monument to O'Connell in the Main Street, O'Connell Street. The street was renamed in 1924 in honour of Daniel O'Connell, a nationalist leader of the early 19th century whose statue stands at the lower end of the street, facing O'Connell Bridge.
Monument to William Smith O'Brien. William Smith O'Brien (17 October 1803 – 18 June 1864) was an Irish Nationalist and Member of Parliament (MP) and leader of the Young Ireland movement. He also encouraged the use of the Irish language. He was convicted of sedition for his part in the Young Irelander Rebellion of 1848, but his sentence of death was commuted to deportation to Van Diemen's Land. he is well known in Tasmania as he escaped from Maria Island and was held under house arrest at Port Arthur where we visited his house. In 1854, he was released on the condition of exile from Ireland, and he lived in Brussels for two years. In 1856 O'Brien was pardoned and returned to Ireland, but he was never active again in politics.
The Cape and eye colouring happened this week with the opening of a play, Dracula. The author of Dracula was Dublin born, Bram Stoker.
I think Colleen enjoyed the visit to the Guiness Brewery??? St. James's Gate Brewery is a brewery founded in 1759 in Dublin, Ireland, by Arthur Guinness. The company is now a part of Diageo, a company formed from the merger of Guinness and Grand Metropolitan in 1997. The main product of the brewery is Guinness Draught.
Originally leased in 1759 to Arthur Guinness at £45 per year for 9,000 years, St. James's Gate has been the home of Guinness ever since. It became the largest brewery in Ireland in 1838, and the largest in the world by 1886, with an annual output of 1.2 million barrels. Although no longer the largest brewery in the world, it is still the largest brewer of stout in the world. The company has since bought out the originally leased property, and during the 19th and early 20th centuries the brewery owned most of the buildings in the surrounding area, including many streets of housing for brewery employees, and offices associated with the brewery. The brewery also made all of its own power using its own power plant.
There is an attached exhibition on the 250-year-old history of Guinness, called the Guinness Storehouse. Here are some pictures we took during this visit.
Guiness Brewery at St James' Gate, Dublin
Copy of the original lease signed by Arthur Guiness for a term of 9 000 years. Colleen found it interesting that the woman behind Arthur Guiness provided funding for the original brewery as well as bore him 21 children of whom 11 kidded in childhood.
The real brewery taken from the window of the Storehouse.
Barrels were made here to transport the Guiness
The bar on the 7th floor of the Storehouse is the highest point in Dublin.
The view from the top of the Storehouse
St Patrick's Cathedral viewed from the Storehouse
View over Dublin from the Storehouse
At 2:00 pm drive around central Dublin and tour Dublin Castle, which was the seat of power and government for many centuries. On our way we travelled from the College Green down Dame Street which has a view of the Christ Church Cathedral down the street.
Christ Church Cathedral in the background
Wedrove past many beautiful town houses from the 18th Century near St Stephen's Green
18th Century townhouse given to the city and now used as the residence of the Lord Mayor of Dublin.
Dublin Castle Dublin Castle, off Dame Street, Dublin, Ireland, was until 1922 the seat of British rule in Ireland, and is now a major Irish government complex. Most of it dates from the 18th century, though a castle has stood on the site since the days of King John, the first Lord of Ireland, in 1204. It also a Norman Fortification for the Norman Dublin.
The Castle served as the seat of English, then later British government of Ireland under the Lordship of Ireland (1171–1541), the Kingdom of Ireland (1541–1800), and the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Ireland (1800–1922). After the signing of the Anglo-Irish Treaty in December 1921, the complex was ceremonially handed over to the newly formed Provisional Government led by Michael Collins.
plan of the castle
The Corke Hill Gates of Dublin Castle
A copy of the Proclamation of Independence from the October, 1916 Uprising that failed but set the scene for the later independence
the garden at Dublin Castle
The Drawing Room
The large throne was made for King George IV s visit in 1821
St Patrick's Hall is the most important ceremonial room in Ireland. Queen Elizabeth 11 gave her speech in this room in 2011. It was the first visit by a British monarch to the area that is now the Republic of Ireland since the 1911 tour by Elizabeth's grandfather one hundred years before.
On Saturday 25 October we went to Kildare to visit the Irish National Stud to see many lovely horses and learn about breeding and racing. An added bonus were some very beautiful Japanese Gardens.
The Irish National Stud at Kildare
Colonel William Hall-Walker started the stud in 1900 and gave it to the British Crown in 1915
Colleen with a friendly brood mare. These horses are kept to nurse foals who have lost their mothers.
Invincible Spirit is one of ten stallions standing at the stud.
Invincible Spirit has a stud fee of €80 000 per service. Last year he covered 160 mares. He is number 3 in Europe but only number 15 in the world. Galileo standing near Limerick is number 1 in the world with a service fee of €340 000.
The Black Abbey ruins are on the lands of the National Stud. This was built after the Normans invaded in 1169 and was owned by the Knights Hospitallers of the Order of St John of Jerusalem. The Hospitallers who bred horses on this site adopted the order of St Augustine and wore black habits hence the name of the Black Abbey.
Jameson's Distillery in 1780 in Bow Street Dublin
Tasting time at Jameson's Distillery
Today, Sunday 26 Octobe it is Day 3 of our tour as we travel south to the ancient port of Waterford.